Quarter Tone Saxophone

Quarter Tone Technique For Saxophone

During the early 20th century, Western composers such as Alois Hàba, Ivan Wyshnegradsky, and Charles Ives began composing quarter tone works for piano, clarinet, and voice. Composers such as Dean Drummond and Easley Blackwood composed microtonal pieces for a variety of unique instruments, including pitched percussion, guitar, and electronic instruments.

Since then, many composers have experimented with the new melodic and harmonic possibilities quarter tonality has to offer. There are hundreds of quarter tone pieces which have been composed for piano, voice, strings, brass, and woodwind instruments, including the saxophone.

Quarter tone compositions are beginning to appear in the saxophone repertoire. The saxophone is highly capable of playing quarter tone notes, with almost the same fluidity and consistency as the normal notes, throughout nearly the entire 2½ octave range.

The goal of this book is to encourage saxophonists to learn this technique and to encourage saxophone composers to write for it. Quarter tonality presents new melodic and harmonic possibilities that can bring about previously unexplored textures, colors, and atmospheres to music.

Quarter Tone Listening Survey

This survey is designed to gauge how different types of people, musicians and non musicians, composers and instrumentalists, etc, respond to, and interpret, quarter tone music. If you have five minutes to spare, please take part in this survey!

Join the Mailling List

If you would like to receive occasional updates on Quarter Tone Technique for Saxophone, including new quarter tone pieces and videos, feel free to sign up for the mailing list. All members of the mailing list receive a $5.99 discount towards purchase of the book!

Quarter Tone Saxophone
Quarter Tone Technique for Saxophone