Quarter Tone Saxophone

Buy the Book

Quarter Tone Technique for Saxophone is available online from the following vendors:

This book is also sold in the following music stores:

Quarter Tone Technique for Saxophone is a technique book that demonstrates how to produce quarter tone notes in a fluent manner with full sound and proper intonation.

During the early 20th century, Western composers such as Alois Hába, Ivan Wyshnegradsky, and Charles Ives began composing quarter tone works for piano, clarient, and voice. Compoers such as Dean Drummond and Easley Blackwood composed microtoal pieces for a variety of unique instruments, including pitched percussion, guitar, and electronic instruments.

Since then, many composers have experimented with the new melodic and harmonic possibilities quarter tonality has to offer. There are hundreds of quarter tone pieces which have been composed for piano, voice, strings, brass, and woodwind instruments, including the saxophone.

The goal of this technique book is to encourage saxophonists to learn this technique and to encourage composers to write for it. Quarter tonality presents new melodic and harmonic possibilities that can bring previously unexplored textures, colors, and atmospheres to music.

The etude compositions exposes the musician to the compositional and musical possibilities the extended technique provides.

Join the Mailing List

If you would like to receive occasional updates on Quarter Tone Technique for Saxophone, including new quarter tone pieces and videos, feel free to sign up for the mailing list.

Website designed by Quinn Web Design.